Bringing The Best of Northern Ireland's Oval Racing
to your browser since 2001



Added: 21 Oct 2012 Category: 2012 Oval Racing
2012 - #42 - Tullyroan Oval - 13/10/12
The nights get colder, the end of the season gets closer and championship season continued, this time with the 2 Litre Irish Closed Championship.
Prior to the racing a busy week and day had been spent preparing, printing and binding 2013 calendars for charity.
The 2 Litre Irish has been one of the more eventful hot rod races you’ll see for the past few seasons and this year was no different. A few showers earlier in the day had provided a slippery track for the big race which seen Shane Murray on pole with Derek Martin alongside with Adam Hylands and Davy McMenemy on row two and Philip Beatty and Wayne Woolsey on the third row. From the off McMenemy got in behind Hylands and a train of cars pushed Murray wide in turn one allowing Hylands through and into the lead. as the race settled down it became a 3 way battle between Hylands, Martin and Murray, who exchanged places and battled throughout the race. Martin was eventually the victor with Murray second and Hylands third.The revenge race seen a win a for Leigh Nicholl after an early stoppage when Lee McCracken smashed into the stricken car of Richard Anderson on the outside of turn two.
In the National Hot Rods there was a heat and final double for Rab Forsythe with Andrew Stewart picking up the other heat. On the night Gavin Fegan raced a borrowed Adam Maxwell 206 as a one off appearance in the class.
A week ahead of their Irish Championship the ProStocks raced for the final round of their Supreme series which seen a cracking final as top guns of the class Ryan Abernethy, Stefan McClelland and Dave Morrison battled for the lead only to be pipped to it by Davy Wright. Hopefully the final sets the scene for a classic in the Irish Championship next week.
There was some close racing in the Junior Productions with the final honours eventually going the way of Jamie McCurdy.
The Robins again struggled for numbers with only 5 cars racing. Billy McLean took the honours in the final.

Found a dry spot!

More Photos on

Share on FacebookTweet This




Other Sites we Contribute to
- 2 Litre Hot Rod -
- Ballymena Raceway -
- DMC Race Promotions -

- National Hot Rod -


Other Links of Interest
- Clive's Gridart -
- GD Embroidery -
- George Fegan Tyres -
- Incarace -
- RW-Graphics -
- -
- Spedeworth -



Please Support FORDS
Fund for ORCi Racing Drivers and Staff



- Home
- Brian Lammey Racing
- 2018 Oval Racing
- 2017 Oval Racing
- 2016 Oval Racing
- 2015 Oval Racing
- 2014 Oval Racing
- 2013 Oval Racing
- 2012 Oval Racing
- 2011 Oval Racing
- Older Oval Racing
- Other Motorsport
- Anything Else

Other sites NIF2 contributes to:
- 2Litre Hot Rod
- Ballymena Raceway
- Ftooz Forum
- National Hot Rod
- NIOvalTV
- Tullyroan Oval


FacebooktwitterSubscribe to RSS feedflickr