Bringing The Best of Northern Ireland's Oval Racing
to your browser since 2001



Added: 20 Oct 2013 Category: 2013 Oval Racing
2013 - #50 – Tullyroan Oval – 19/10/13
Given the forecast and the downpours throughout the afternoon I’m not entirely sure how we managed to stay dry throughout the evening, but we did and I’ll not complain. The ProStocks Irish Championship and the Stock Rods NI Supreme Championship topped the bill on what was otherwise a very end of season feeling meeting.

Of the Championships it was the Stock Rods that were up first, a sixteen car grid assembled which included National Hot Rod Star Adam Maxwell in one of Chris Gordon’s cars and was headed by Raymond Harper. Harper took a wire to wire victory after seeing off an early challenge from Derek McMillan. Steven McNiece battled through the field up into second with McMillan being awarded third after Ben McCully who had been third across the line was docked for contact. Adam Maxwell finished around eighth or nineth. In the revenge race, which was missing the top three from the Championship, it was Andy Best who came through from the back to take the win on the very last bend as long time race leader Mick Rodgers drifted wide and left enough of a gap for Best to get through.

The ProStocks fielded the biggest Irish Championship grid I think there has been anywhere this season with 31 cars lined up and still a few notable absentees. Steffan McClelland defended his title from pole, but it was a defence that wasn’t to last long as he ended up around the wall in the first bend and then knocked off it again on the back straight and he became one of the first onto the infield. Thomas Agnew took the lead early on and held it to the flag, with Steven Haugh second who looked to have been closing the gap in the closing stages but didn’t really get close enough to mount a challenge, Ryan Abernethy was third. The revenge race was won by Billy Finnegan. There was also a ladies race which featured a few big shunts before Pamela Thompson went on to take the win.

Robert Mawhinney took the victory in the opening Junior Production heat, before Jamie McCurdy won heat two and the final, both races looked like typical end of season affairs with only a few cars left running at the end of each.

As end of season goes, the Lightning Rods fielded twelve cars, but put on some of the best racing of the night, Ben McKee won heat one, Dane Ferry was awarded heat two after Jordan Rochford who had crossed the line first was docked for contact and Nigel Jackons won the final, a final of which only 6 cars finished, but four of the six scraped for the lead throughout the race.

Ian Bolton won all three Reliant Robins races.
Approx Car Turnout: 78 cars (32 ProStocks, 9 Reliant Robins, 12 Lightning Rods, 9 Junior Productions, 16 Stock Rods)

More Photos on

Share on FacebookTweet This




Other Sites we Contribute to
- 2 Litre Hot Rod -
- Ballymena Raceway -
- DMC Race Promotions -

- National Hot Rod -


Other Links of Interest
- Clive's Gridart -
- GD Embroidery -
- George Fegan Tyres -
- Incarace -
- RW-Graphics -
- -
- Spedeworth -



Please Support FORDS
Fund for ORCi Racing Drivers and Staff



- Home
- Brian Lammey Racing
- 2018 Oval Racing
- 2017 Oval Racing
- 2016 Oval Racing
- 2015 Oval Racing
- 2014 Oval Racing
- 2013 Oval Racing
- 2012 Oval Racing
- 2011 Oval Racing
- Older Oval Racing
- Other Motorsport
- Anything Else

Other sites NIF2 contributes to:
- 2Litre Hot Rod
- Ballymena Raceway
- Ftooz Forum
- National Hot Rod
- NIOvalTV
- Tullyroan Oval


FacebooktwitterSubscribe to RSS feedflickr