Bringing The Best of Northern Ireland's Oval Racing
to your browser since 2001



Added: 06 May 2014 Category: 2014 Oval Racing
Multiple May Day Winners at Aghadowey
The Mayday meeting at Aghadowey produced no fewer than fourteen different race winners on a sometimes wet, mostly blustery and all round quite cold May day meeting at Aghadowey.

The second meeting at Aghadowey saw the 2 Litres, Ninja Karts and Robins making their first appearance at the newly formatted venue.
In an afternoon that seen some very tidy new cars out and some very sad looking messes of cars towed out, it was Jay Jay McConaghie in the Robins that managed to be the only driver to be a double race winner.
Aghadowey seems to suit the Robins well, and they seem a bit more action packed than they do at Tullyroan. Steven Bolton took the opening heat before Jay Jay won the second and the final. I think there was three maybe four roll overs throughout the afternoon too.
The Ninja karts found the going a bit bumpy and in a few places the cars got completely airborne, Joel McPeake took the opening heat win with Graham Meek winning heat two and Adam McFall taking the win in the final.
The Opening Lightning Rod heat seen a Masterclass in wet driving from Nigel Jackson, who spent the last few laps on the outside of Norman Purdy, Jackson just taking the win by a nose on the line. In the second heat Gary Beggs had a huge shunt losing a wheel down the back straight and going into the wall at the almost flat out, giving him a busy two weeks ahead of the world final at Cowdenbeath if he is to make it out. Jordan Rochford took the heat two win. Not unlike the opening Jackson broke away from the star graders and went off on up the road to give chase to Purdy in the lead, but this time he didn’t have the same joy and the other star graders caught up as he tried to make it stick on the outside. Winston Weir eventually found himself on the outside of Purdy in the closing laps and took a brave charge to the outside in the last bend, which wasn’t enough to pass Purdy, but an infringement on the start seen Purdy docked and Weir took the win.
The 2 Litres were boosted by John Murray’s return in a superb looking Saxo, Paul Crawford in a Starlet and Richard Stewart in his ex Damy McMenemy Corsa as well as Scottish visitors Gordon Alexander and John Campbell. The opening heat seen a big shunt on the back straight in which Stuart Cochrane picked up heavy damage. Joel Richardson won the race on the track but was excluded for a technical infringement which promoted Thomas Dilly to the win.
In the second heat Philip Beatty led home Richardson to take the win.
In the final it was Richardson who took the win, leading home Stephen Emerson and Adam Heatrick.
The Thunder Rods completed the line up and seen heat wins for Mark McLaughlin and Andrew McLean before Karl Smyth took the win in the final.

More Photos on

Share on FacebookTweet This




Other Sites we Contribute to
- 2 Litre Hot Rod -
- Ballymena Raceway -
- DMC Race Promotions -

- National Hot Rod -


Other Links of Interest
- Clive's Gridart -
- GD Embroidery -
- George Fegan Tyres -
- Incarace -
- RW-Graphics -
- -
- Spedeworth -



Please Support FORDS
Fund for ORCi Racing Drivers and Staff



- Home
- Brian Lammey Racing
- 2018 Oval Racing
- 2017 Oval Racing
- 2016 Oval Racing
- 2015 Oval Racing
- 2014 Oval Racing
- 2013 Oval Racing
- 2012 Oval Racing
- 2011 Oval Racing
- Older Oval Racing
- Other Motorsport
- Anything Else

Other sites NIF2 contributes to:
- 2Litre Hot Rod
- Ballymena Raceway
- Ftooz Forum
- National Hot Rod
- NIOvalTV
- Tullyroan Oval


FacebooktwitterSubscribe to RSS feedflickr