Bringing The Best of Northern Ireland's Oval Racing
to your browser since 2001



Added: 18 Jul 2011 Category: 2011 Oval Racing
2011 - #21 Nuttscorner Oval 16/7/2011
After a few weeks off, racing returned to Nuttscorner Oval on Saturday 16th of July.
With just a week to go to the Speedweekend and the 2 Litre Hot Rod World final, there was 30 2 Litres in action for the opening heat.
Not surprisingly it wasn’t long before the drama began, in the opening heat Sean Dynes got out of shape on the exit of turn two, collecting oncoming traffic, and when the dust settled Gary Wilson’s car was perched on top of Shane Murray’s and the first stoppage of the evening was required.
After a complete restart Lee McCracken led the opening laps of the race before Wayne McClure came through to take the win. McCracken was second, with Adam Heatrick third.
McCracken took the heat two win ahead of Heatrick and Garry Campbell.
Although car numbers were down for the final, it became another dramatic affair. McCracken led the race early on as the rest of the back bunched up behind Davy Potter. Potter got out of shape going onto the backstraight and after a lap of chaos, several cars ended up on the infield and in the wall, bringing out the yellow flags. After the restart Adam Heatrick went on to take the final win with David McMenemy runner up and Philip Beatty third.
The Stock Rods made their second guest appearance of the season, with 17 cars taking to the grid for heat one. Ex Nuttscorner Oval Junior Production Driver Bobbie Johnstone took the opening heat before another ex Junior Driver Matthew Moore took the second heat and the final.
Like the 2 Litres there was a good field of ProStocks in action. Jonathan Diffin took the opening heat which seen Ryan Abernethy pick up heavy damage. Robbie Diffin was only a lap away from taking heat two when he collied with the stricken car of Willie Stewart who had spun in turn 2, Alan Haugh went on to take the win. In the final it was a win for Ryan Stewart who led home Willie Stewart and Robbie Diffin.
In the Juniors Kyle Hill and Davy Patton took the heats before Derek McMillan took the honours in the final.

A lively start in the 2 Litres

Denver McLean parades the Euro Trophy

2 Litre Heat one Line Up

Calvin's new paint job

2 Litre's exit turn 2

Wayne Woolsey in Action

2 Litre final, before it went a bit mad

Lee McCracken Ready for heat 2

ProStock Action

More ProStock Action

Fionn Donnelly sprung a leak

Stock Rod Damage

Stock Rods line up for a restart

Stock Rods in Action
More Photos on

Share on FacebookTweet This




Other Sites we Contribute to
- 2 Litre Hot Rod -
- Ballymena Raceway -
- DMC Race Promotions -

- National Hot Rod -


Other Links of Interest
- Clive's Gridart -
- GD Embroidery -
- George Fegan Tyres -
- Incarace -
- RW-Graphics -
- -
- Spedeworth -



Please Support FORDS
Fund for ORCi Racing Drivers and Staff



- Home
- Brian Lammey Racing
- 2018 Oval Racing
- 2017 Oval Racing
- 2016 Oval Racing
- 2015 Oval Racing
- 2014 Oval Racing
- 2013 Oval Racing
- 2012 Oval Racing
- 2011 Oval Racing
- Older Oval Racing
- Other Motorsport
- Anything Else

Other sites NIF2 contributes to:
- 2Litre Hot Rod
- Ballymena Raceway
- Ftooz Forum
- National Hot Rod
- NIOvalTV
- Tullyroan Oval


FacebooktwitterSubscribe to RSS feedflickr